Kicking players out of your group. Your experiences and reasons?

I just kicked a player out of my group after three sessions of this new group. A few weeks before I kicked another out of my different/second D&D group. That is very rare for me. I got to thinking though. How to avoid it, why I did it and how I prefer to do it if I absolutely must.

In both cases the players were rather new and simply not a good fit. I run a game which I explicitly advertise to any potential players as: high risk, rules-lite, homebrew OSR rules, lower-ish magic, low power level/stats, challenging, requiring clever thinking on the players parts, very cooperative, low on party-splits, no PVP or creepy or traumatizing stuff as well as collaborative story-telling and role-playing heavy. I make it very clear what I am (not) looking for in players and the sessions. I often have complete newbies join and in the vast majority of cases that works out grand.

To illustrate one of the cases/persons in question, let’s call him “Nick”, I kicked Nick out because:

We had one of the best sessions I have run in months, everyone but Nick was really, really into it and super complimentary afterwards. Nick initially was also very into it, however at one point towards the end of the session he became down/frustrated and started complaining about the game… This switch happened very suddenly and immediately after Nick made a few very bad rolls and several very bad tactical choices: getting himself split of from the party and almost killed. Despite the entire group and myself giving him many outs or suggesting he could also retreat or try any different, far less risky tactic.