Maderschramm's Arts and Crafts Corner

Food is half art and half science!

Cooking is one of my favorite hobbies outside of TTRPGs. I made some pulled pork tonight - thought I’d share.

I also paint miniatures. I’ll upload some photos of those another day.

7 Likes

Oh man that looks good. So uh… shipping cost on some of that pork? :sweat_smile:

Looking forward to your miniature posts! I’m just getting started in the mini hobby.

Ha! Let me know next time you’re in Atlanta, I’ll save you a plate!

1 Like

This is beautiful. Do you have a recipe you can share? I’m starting again to cook and I’d love to make some pulled pork.

Sure!

Get a bone-in pork butt (shoulder). Should be about 6-8lbs or so.

I dry brine all my meats with a 1/2tsp. of kosher salt per lb of meat for 24 hours, so start with that step. Really, I use more salt (I just sprinkle salt on it until coated) but 1/2tsp. is sufficient.

Make a vinegar BBQ sauce the night before as well. That’s 1 and 1/2 cups of distilled white vinegar, 2 tablespoons of salt, 2 tablespoons of sugar, and then a heavy pinch of red pepper flakes, a heavy dash of hot sauce, and a heavy pinch of black pepper (all 3 to taste). Put all the ingredients in a mason jar and shake it up and let it sit. The longer it sits the more you get out of the red pepper flakes, so if you make it a week in advance it’ll be stronger than if you make it the night before. You can also make a sweet Kansas City style sauce instead (my girlfriend prefers this sauce).