Nyhur's Design Corner

Hello everybody!
and welcome to Nyhur’s Design Corner

I’m no artist my but in my spare time I like to design dungeons and encounters to share.
I always start with a theme, a feeling that I would like to evoke or an idea for an encounter.
Experimenting with new stuff is usually my main goal.

I just recently reworked my layout template and I’m trying to make it as tight as possible.
I value a lot accessibility and clarity but I still have to improve a lot in that sense.

Most of my works are for D&D 5e but I’m planning to make some designs also for other games.

Well then, let’s cut to the chase…
This is my last work

With Medaria’s Tower I just wanted to make a credible environment while using the very recognizable (and improbably) shape of a pentacle.
Working on an hexagon grid seemed the right way to go but by the time I finished I was wondering if I should have not used a pentagon grid instead. That would have probably been more interesting hahaha
The tower is, of course, populated with devils. The encounters are quite straight forward but I added some strategy notes to suggest that they are not some “suicide charge grunt army”.

In conclusion I must said I’m quite satisfied with this one. It’s simple, concise and the shape alone is able to evoke some unholy thoughts. I also had fun with the adventure seeds as I would like to play an adventure based on those.
Maybe the side rooms (especially those on the ground floor) can be improved. Now they are just fillers with a bit of flavor environment, slave to the pentacle shape. No real function or narrative is present in those areas.

But now it’s your turn!
Any feedback? Do you like it? Would you use it in your adventure?
Would you hang it on your bedroom’s wall?

p.s. Sorry for the wall of text, I promise the next posts will be shorter :]

13 Likes